Aci, Galatea e Polifemo, HWV 72
$ 40.00 Add to cart

Aci, Galatea e Polifemo, HWV 72

$ 40.00

The first ever vocal score (piano reduction) of Handel’s dramatic cantata or serenata a tre, Aci, Galatea e Polifemo, HWV 72. Paperback. 8.5″x11″. Distributed by Classical Vocal Reprints.

Handel, George Frideric
Soprano, Mezzosoprano, Alto, Baritone, Bass

Aci, Galatea e Polifemo, HWV 72

Aci, soprano
Galatea, alto
Polifemo, bass

Serenata a tre
Piano/vocal score

Edition: OE 10720
ISMN: 979-0-800140-06-8

The first ever vocal score (piano reduction) of Handel’s dramatic cantata or serenata a tre, Aci, Galatea e Polifemo, HWV 72. It is based on Friedrich Chrysander’s edition of Aci, Galatea e Polifemo (HWV 72), produced by the German Handel Society (HG 53), Handel’s 1708 autograph of the work, and a later 18th century manuscript that, apart from the contents in the hand of John Christopher Smith Sr., contains the final pages which were removed from the 1708 autograph (signed Napoli li 16 di Giugnio).

Contents: Preface, Index of numbers, Vocal score

Backround: Handel composed Aci, Galatea e Polifemo (Acis, Galatea, and Polyphemus) during his time in Naples, finally completing the work on June 16th, 1708. While there is still some discrepancy as to who exactly commissioned the piece and for what reason, we are most certain that the serenata had its first performance a month after its completion on July 19th during the wedding festivities of Tolomeo Saverio Gallo, the Duke of Alvito, and Beatrice Tocco di Montemiletto, Princess of Acaja. While Handel never presented this work again in his lifetime, he did use the same storyline for several other works: a one-act English masque performed at Cannons in 1718, a three-act serenata performed in London in 1732 using music from the original 1708 version and selections from his other Italian cantatas, and a two-act English version performed in 1739, also in London. This 1739 Acis and Galatea was his most frequently performed dramatic work during his lifetime, and is also the most frequently performed version of the story today.

Synopsis: The libretto used for the 1708 serenata was written by Nicola Giuvo, private secretary and literary adviser to the Dutchess Aurora Sanseverino, the aunt of the bride whose wedding was celebrated during the premiere of this work. The source material for Giuvo’s libretto was Ovid’s Metamorphoses (book XIII), and tells the story of the cyclops Polyphemus who after being continuously rejected by the sea-nymph Galatea, throws a rock at her beloved Acis and kills him in a fit of jealousy. She then turns his blood into a river, and transforms him into a river-god.


Additional Information

Weight 12 oz
Dimensions 8.5 × 11 in

Detailed information

Edition no.: OE 10720
ISMN: 979-0-800140-06-8
Composer: Handel, George Frideric
Title: Aci, Galatea e Polifemo, HWV 72
Detailed instrumentation: Soprano solo, Alto solo, Bass solo, Flauto dolce, Oboe, Tromba I/II; Violino I-III, Viola, Violoncello I/II; Bassi (Violoncello, Contrabasso, Cembalo); acc. arr. for piano.
Volume / Series: Ossia Editions
Libretto: Giuvo, Nicola
Arranger: Sokolowski, Christopher
Editor: Sokolowski, Christopher

Product format: Vocal score, scholarly edition
Language(s) of work: Italian, English preface
Duration (approx.): 01:35:00
Publisher: Ossia Editions
Binding: Paperback, coil binding
Print run: 1st printing July 2019
Additional information to the print run: n/a
Pages / Format: iv, 96 p. – 8.5×11 in.


Duetto Sorge il dì — Aci, Galatea
Recitativo Vanti, o cara  — Aci, Galatea
Aria Sforzano a piangere — Galatea
Recitativo E qual nuova sventura — Aci, Galatea
Aria Che non può la gelosia — Aci
Accompagnato Ma qual orrido suono — Aci, Galatea
Recitativo Ahi, che dall’ombre eterne — Aci, Galatea
Aria Sibilar l’angui d’Aletto — Polifemo
Recitativo Deh lascia, o Polifemo — Galatea, Polifemo
Aria Benché tuoni e l’etra avvampi — Galatea 
Cadrai depressa e vinta — Galatea, Polifemo
Aria e ritornello Non sempre, no, crudele — Polifemo
Recitativo Folle, quanto mi rido — Aci, Galatea, Polifemo
Aria Dell’aquila l’artigli — Aci
Recitativo Meglio spiega i tuoi sensi — Aci, Polifemo
Aria Precipitoso nel mar che freme — Polifemo
Recitativo Sì, t’intendo, inhumano — Galatea
Aria S’agita in mezzo all’onde — Galatea
Recitativo So che le cinosure — Aci, Polifemo
Terzetto Proverà lo sdegno mio — Aci, Galatea, Polifemo
Recitativo Ingrata, se mi nieghi — Aci, Galatea, Polifemo
Aria Fra l’ombre e gl’orrori — Polifemo
Recitativo Ma che? Non andrà inulta — Aci, Polifemo
Aria Qui l’augel da pianta in pianta — Aci
Recitativo Giunsi al fin, mio tesoro — Aci, Galatea
Aria Se m’ami, o cara — Galatea
Recitativo Qui sull’alto del monte — Aci, Galatea, Polifemo
Terzetto Dolce amico amplesso — Aci, Galatea, Polifemo
Recitativo Or poiché sordi sono — Aci, Polifemo
Aria Verso già l’alma col sangue — Aci
Recitativo Misera, e dove sono? — Galatea
Aria Impara, ingrata, impara — Polifemo
Recitativo Ah, tiranno, inhumano! — Galatea, Polifemo 
Aria Del mar fra l’onde — Galatea
Recitativo Ferma, ma già nel mare — Polifemo
Accompagnato e recitativo Vissi fedel, mia vita — Polifemo
Terzetto Chi ben ama ha per oggetti fido amor — Aci, Galatea, Polifemo